2009 Scallon Cup Report

30 October 2009

An entry list of eighteen crews tackled tricky conditions on a demanding course during the Scallon Cup navigation rally organised by Omagh Motor Club. This rally was open to non Expert navigation crews and was supported by mostly local competitors.


The eventual winners of the event were local brother pairing William and David Howard driving a Vauxhall Astra and as semi expert entrants, produced an impressive performance by remaining penalty free during the 55 mile event.


The rally started at the Glendale Filling station and during the first half of the rally the route twisted through the narrow roads around the Glenhordial and Mountfield regions. The majority of the crews found very few difficulties in negotiating the course to the half way halt at Drumnakilly with five crews equal with no penalties. As well as the Howards, these were the father and son pairings of last year's winners, David and Kyle Preston, John and Jonathan Henderson, Raymond and Gareth Deazley and also Beragh pairing John Crawford and David Vance. Four crews who were still very much in contention at this point were Ian & Aaron Johnston, Conor & Tony Kelly, Nigel Campbell and Colin Harkness and David Gibson and William Hamilton, all keenly matched on one penalty.


The second half of the course then traversed the Beragh and Sixmilecross areas proving to be more testing for most crews and put paid to Neil Fletcher and Dessie McAleer's night as they were out of the rally due to experiencing mechanical failure.


The final section which included a small triangular section of roads at the Roscavey area proved tricky with the main causalities being the Preston's, who stumbled through this stage picking up nine costly penalties. Also the Johnson, Deazley and Kelly crews missed a control to send them tumbling out of the podium placings.


At the finish, the closely contested rally had a spread of only ten penalties between the top five positions with the Howards keeping their composure to beat Loughgall pairing of John & Jonathan Henderson by one penalty. Impressive local performances from Campbell / Harkness and the Crawford / Vance crews claimed the third and fourth placings respectively.


James Woods and Isla Graham won the Beginner section. Initially John Boyle and Austin Grimes had led the class but a storming second half from James and Isla gave them the top spot. In the beginner's class there was an impressive showing from father and daughter pairing Lewis and Hannah Boyd finishing first in their class incurring no penalties in the process.


At the prize giving ceremony at the Whistlers Inn, Sixmilecross, David Howard thanked Omagh Motor Club on behalf of all competitors for putting together an enjoyable event.


Derek Graham




  1. William Howard / David Howard (Semi-Expert, Vauxhall Astra) 0 marks
  2. John Henderson / Jonathan Henderson (Semi-Expert, Talbot Sunbeam) 1 mark
  3. Nigel Campbell / Colin Harkness (Novice, VW Golf) 3 marks
  4. John Crawford / David Vance (Novice, Nissan Sunny) 4 marks
  5. David Preston / Kyle Preston (Semi-Expert, Citreon Saxo) 10 marks
  6. Ian Johnston / Aaron Johnston (Novice, Nissan Micra) 26 marks
  7. Raymond Deazley / Gareth Deazley (Novice, Vauxhall Corsa) 40 marks
  8. Conor Kelly / Tony Kelly (Novice, Nissan Sunny) 46 marks
  9. Richard Swanston / Karen Fisher (Semi-Expert, Peugeot 106) 50 marks
  10. Richard Hughes / Mark Hughes (Novice, Vauxhall Corsa) 69 marks
  11. David Gibson / William Hamilton (Novice, Ford Focus) 70 marks
  12. Jane Boden / Tom Boden (Novice, Ford Escort) 121 marks
  13. Neil Fletcher / Dessie McAleer (Novice, Escort Mk1 Mexico) DNF

Semi Expert

  1. William Howard / David Howard (Vauxhall Astra) 0 marks
  2. John Henderson / Jonathan Henderson (Talbot Sunbeam) 1 mark
  3. David Preston / Kyle Preston (Citroën Saxo) 10 marks
  4. Richard Swanston / Karen Fisher (Peugeot 106) 50 marks


  1. Nigel Campbell / Colin Harkness (VW Golf) 3 marks
  2. John Crawford / David Vance (Nissan Sunny) 4 marks
  3. Ian Johnston / Aaron Johnston (Nissan Micra) 26 marks
  4. Raymond Deazley / Gareth Deazley (Vauxhall Corsa) 40 marks
  5. Conor Kelly / Tony Kelly (Nissan Sunny) 46 marks
  6. Richard Hughes / Mark Hughes (Vauxhall Corsa) 69 marks
  7. David Gibson / William Hamilton (Ford Focus) 70 marks
  8. Jane Boden / Tom Boden (Ford Escort) 121 marks
  9. Neil Fletcher / Dessie McAleer (Escort Mk1 Mexico) DNF


  1. James Woods / Isla Graham (Peugeot 106) 14 marks
  2. John Boyle / Austin Grimes (Vauxhall Corsa) 24 marks

Rally School

  1. Lewis Boyd / Hannah Boyd (Vauxhall Vectra) 0 marks
  2. Richard Keys / Richard Lynam (Ford Sierra) DNF
Posted by PMcCollum on 1/11/2009; Last updated by PMcCollum on 1/11/2009