27 August 2017




Round 8 of the Millers Oils N.I. Hillclimb Championship took place at the scenic Eagles Rock hill on the North Coast. After the recent bad weather, it was good to see a dry day but the road remained damp in places all day.


Ricky McGimpsey continued his recent hot form with a totally dominant performance finishing well clear of reigning Champion, Chris Houston. Jaye Nevin had a good drive to 3rd place with John Donnelly and Roger Gage completing the top 5.


In the Classes, the Roadgoing Class 2 had a different look this time with Michael McAllister continuing his Garron Point winning form to score a comfortable win over Conor Hamill’s BMW with Colin McCann a good 3rd and Adrian Mulholland in a subdued 4th. Roadgoing Class 3 saw a comfortable win for Paul Montgomery. Other Class winners were Anthony Upton, John Hamill, Gordon Fogarty, Paul Dorrity, Paul Hamill, Roger Gage, Gerard O’Connell, Alan Cassells, Seamus Morris, Damien Carey and John Donnelly with Mervyn Johnston and Robert McGimpsey taking the Historic Classes.


The event ran very well with good organisation from Declan McCay and his team at Maiden City Club.


So, the Championship moves towards a conclusion with the last round remaining at the UAC Knockagh event in mid September. After his 2nd place at Eagles Rock, Chris Houston cannot now be overhauled and retains his Championship with Ricky McGimpsey’s strong second half of the season just falling short in his quest for a first title. John Donnelly holds a secure 3rd place in the table.


In the Saloon Championships, Roger Gage is confirmed as the Modified Champion as Rudi cannot now beat his points total and in Roadgoing Saloons, Paul Montgomery only needs a few points at Knockagh to take his first title from previous winner Adrian Mulholland. Most Class Championships are now settled as well but Class 4 between Gardiner McIlwaine and John Hamill is still up for grabs as is Class 6B between Lee Kirkwood and Peter Henry.


Competitors should ensure they comply with the marshalling rule requirement at one of the remaining hillclimb or sprint Speed events

Posted by CLavery on 27/8/2017; Last updated by CLavery on 27/8/2017