Tyrone Stages Report

30 July 2016


New Rally- Similar Result! McGarrity Victorious on Tyrone Stages Event!



Round Five-2016 MSA ANICC McGrady Insurance Northern Ireland Rally Championship Benone beach provided a unique backdrop for the finish of the Tyrone Stages Rally, as the Cookstown Motor Club’s twelve stage event took place over totally new rally stages, including one near the famous beach and around Magilligan prison. Indeed this brave new event, with no pre-event recce, but route notes, for the crews was hailed a success, not least by winner Derek McGarrity with his Ford Fiesta WRC.

“I really enjoyed the fast format- stage into stage, and they were good stages with plenty of work in them. The fact that they were new to everyone also added to the enjoyment” said the six times NI Rally Champion.


Derek took a twenty-one second victory on this fifth round of the MSA ANICC McGrady Insurance Northern Ireland Rally Championship, putting him on course towards a record seventh title. Turbo boost issues were his only problem, whilst a boost to his driving performance through the day was a new pair of glasses which helped him judge the braking distances! Second all day and claiming that position at the finish was Brendan Cumiskey in his R5 Fiesta. An early spin on stage two was one of the few dramas, with fastest times on four of the twelve stages giving the Castleblayney driver a fine result. Third on one of her first drives in the S14 Impreza was Emma McKinstry, who was absolutely thrilled, especially as she coped without second gear on the final loop. Her father Kenny hadn’t as much luck, retiring from sixth place on the tenth stage with power steering issues.


In the two wheel drive race, Banbridge’s John Devlin made a flying start in his 2 litre modified Sunbeam, holding the lead and fourth overall until stage four. Then Camillus Bradley powered his 2.5 Escort ahead to claim fourth and the two wheel drive win from Alastair Cochrane on his 2 litre MK2 Escort. Fintan McGrady after quite a few over-shoots ended up seventh overall and third 2WD finisher, as John Devlin slipped down to ninth overall during the day. Climbing up to sixth after an early puncture where Jonny and Simon Morrow in their Evo 6, whilst Martin Cairns brought his Fiesta WRC, which has just been converted to right hand drive into eighth.


Tenth overall and class four winner was young Adam Bustard. The former Junior 1000 Champion had a great drive in his Fiesta R2T, fending off the challenge from his old Junior rival Kyle White in his C2 R2 Max. Kyle unfortunately retired on stage nine after hitting a chicane. Drew Wylie took Historic honours in his MK2 Escort RS1800 despite losing second gear mid-way through the day. Forty three cars started this all new event, with thirty-four finishers after thirty-four miles of unique sealed surface special stages. 


Other class winners on the event were: Jody McManus - class 1 (Ford Fiesta), William Herron- class 2 (Mitsubishi Evo), Conor Cochrane- class 3 (MK2 Escort), Ian Green- class 5 (Peugeot 205), Malcolm PedlowClass 10 (BMW 2002 Historic). Round six of the McGrady series is back on tarmac on the 19th-20th August for the two-day Ulster International Rally.


2016 McGrady Insurance MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Rally Championship 2016-Round Five results

1st Derek McGarrity / Diarmuid Falvey Ford Fiesta WRC 37:54.9

2nd Brendan Cumiskey / Ronan O’Kane Ford Fiesta R5 +0:21.8

3rd Emma McKinstry / Kenny Hull Subaru Impreza S14 +1:20.5

4th Camillus Bradley / Crawford Henderson Ford Escort MkII 2.5 +1:27.2

5th Alistair Cochrane / David Turkington Ford Escort MkII 2.0 +1:41.0

6th Johnny Morrow / Simon Morrow Mitsubishi Lancer Evo RS +2:07.5

7th Fintan McGrady / Johnny Baird Ford Escort MkII 2.5 +2:10.7

8th Martin Cairns / Gary McElhinney Ford Fiesta WRC +2:15.1

9th John Devlin / John McCarthy Talbot Sunbeam 2.0 +2:20.4

10th Adam Bustard / Aaron Johnston Ford Fiesta R2T +2:39.4



Andrew Bushe

Posted by PMcCollum on 24/10/2017; Last updated by PMcCollum on 24/10/2017