2002 Pre-Circuit Rally Report

1 March 2002

Leslie Young and Lewis Boyd reversed their disappointment of a fortnight ago to emerge victorious in the Pre-Circuit Rally.


The second round of the Northern Ireland Navigation Rally Championship was organised by Omagh Motor Club, using the numerous tight and twisty lanes of south Co Tyrone.


An impressive field of 30 cars braved the ice-cold conditions in cars ranging from a Mk I Ford Cortina to a new Mini.


The championship leaders, Edward Murphy and Barry Taggart lead the field through a route that included many unsurfaced lanes. At the half way halt none of the top eight crews had any mishaps to report, with all of them on four penalties or less.


Even with the event being very well marshalled, five crews finished on 14 or less penalties. Murphy/Taggart maintained their championship lead by finishing third, behind brothers Phil and Alan Dorman, who won Class 2 convincingly. But it was the local crew of Young/Boyd, who so nearly cleaned the first round, that won on 5 penalties, one ahead of the Dorman's, and made it the first local victory in this rally since 1994.


Class 3 was won with ease by Stephen Wishart and Jonathon Charlesson in Jonathon's Capri from Paul Gray/Jim Smith's Escort.


Class 4 was dominated by two surnames, with 5 Kyle's and 4 Milligan's competing. The former did better with Mark Robinson/Maurice Kyle beating John McKay/Andrew Milligan.


Class 5, for local rally school crews, was won by Paul McSwiggan/Feargal McDonald from Roy Allen/Maurice Cresswell and Eamon Mimnagh/Gerry McWilliams.


Patrick McCollum



  1. Leslie Young & Lewis Boyd (Ford Sierra) 5
  2. Phil Dorman & Alan Dorman (Vauxhall Nova) 6
  3. Edward Murphy & Barry Taggart (Vauxhall Nova) 9
  4. John Henderson & Lloyd Cochrane (Talbot Sunbeam) 10
  5. Willie McKeown & Patrick McCollum (Mini) 14
  6. Trevor Reid & Richard Reid (Ford Escort RS2000) 25
  7. Robbie McClean & Richard Hicks (Toyota Corolla) 36
  8. Brian Dorman & Phillip Patterson (Ford Escort) 125

Class Winners

  1. Leslie Young & Lewis Boyd (Ford Sierra) 5
  2. Phil Dorman & Alan Dorman (Vauxhall Nova) 6
  3. Stephen Wishart & Jonathon Charlesson (Ford Capri) 3
  4. Mark Robinson & Maurice Kyle (Peugeot 205) 92
  5. Paul McSwiggan & Feargal McDonald (Subaru Impreza) 39
Posted by PMcCollum on 27/1/2009; Last updated by PMcCollum on 24/11/2009