2008 Firecracker Rally Report

7 November 2008

Willie McKeown and Patrick McCollum rounded off their second title winning year with victory in the Firecracker Rally. It was their fifth win of the season.


The Semi-Expert crew of Leslie and Gareth Hawe had led at the half way halt, but a rocky second half performance dropped them to third overall, although they easily won their class.


Clifford Auld and John Lindsay pushed on hard in their Triumph 2.5Pi and had threatened to win at times, but some early arrivals contributed to their runner up position.


The Novice Class was won for the first time by Richard Beattie and Ian Hawthorne, with a clear 16 point margin over Andrew Hughes and Neil Anderson.


Brian and Ruth Barr won the Beginners' Class.


Patrick McCollum




  1. Willie McKeown/Patrick McCollum (Expert, Vauxhall Corsa) 44 marks;
  2. Clifford Auld/John Lindsay (Expert, Triumph 2.5 PI) 51;
  3. Leslie Hawe/Gareth Hawe (Semi-Expert, Renault Clio) 69;
  4. Gary Milligan/Rachael Muldoon (Semi-Expert, Renault Clio) 117;
  5. David Preston/Kyle Preston (Semi-Expert, Citroën Saxo VTR) 132;


  1. Richard Beattie/Ian Hawthorne (Citroën Saxo) 33;
  2. Andrew Hughes/Neil Anderson (Peugeot 306) 59;
  3. Raymond Deazley/Gareth Deazley (Vauxhall Corsa) 79;


  1. Brian Barr/Ruth Barr (Nissan Micra) 144;
  2. Roger Fynn/David McCullough (MG Midget) 182;
  3. Shakeel Huq/Alison McAleese (Austin Mini) 190
Posted by PMcCollum on 27/10/2009; Last updated by PMcCollum on 27/10/2009