2010 Jumping Jack Rally Report

12 February 2010

Eddie Murphy and Barry Taggart won the Jumping Jack Rally for the second consecutive year and won in convincing style.  This rally was organised by Rachel Muldoon and her team from Queen's University Belfast Motor Club and started out of the village of Aghagallon on the south east shore of Lough Neagh.  The route skirted the shore of the lough and had a half way break near Dundrod before returning towards Lisburn and back to Aghagallon.


The second round of the McGrady Insurance Navigation Rally Championship was held on a cold and clear dry night where the temperature hovered about the zero mark for the entirety of the event.  Murphy and Taggart didn't quite lead for the whole rally.  There were headed by Gary Sheridan and Lloyd Cochrane for about 10 miles until they went wrong on the last section before relaxed.  They dropped to fourth and stayed there until the end of the rally.  Leslie and Gareth Hawe were just hoping to reach the end of the rally after two non-finishes in their car since Christmas.    They were in great from until they had to go round a small triangle.  They went the long way round when unusually it was the short route that was correct, with 15 marks for a wrong approach resulting.  They were the third of three cars that all got punctures from the same pothole.  Both cars ahead of them suffered the same fate.  John and Jonathan Henderson got another 2nd place finish and are edging ever closer to that important first victory.  But it was Murphy and Taggart who, despite dropping 5 minutes with that puncture, finished on just 11 marks, fourteen marks ahead of second place.  They really are picking up momentum with what is now their fourth win in twelve months.


Gordon Simpson and Derek Graham were much closer to their old form, with only a couple of sections blighting an otherwise fine night.  David and Kyle Preston came home in 6th place, but again, it was mostly due to two poor sections.


A real upset had been on the cards up until the half way halt.  William and David Howard had only dropped 4 marks by the halt and were in second place overall at this point.  Their second half wasn't so bright, and in fact they just dropped to second in class behind Andrew Hughes and Neil Anderson, who have won their class on both rallies so far this year.


Two crews had a good run in the Novice Class.  Clive Latimer and David McElroy just edged out Barry Gilpin and Denis Morton, finishing on 5 and 7 marks respectively, which considering there were over 40 controls was quite an excellent performance.  Richard and Mark Hughes were third in class with Ian and Aaron Johnston bringing their Micra home in 4th.


Ray and Garry McClurg won the Beginner Class, which was an excellent result for Garry's first rally.  Brendan and Russell Mullan and Barry Elmore and Brian Reihill in an unusual Nissan Silvia were 2nd and 3rd.


The championship goes west next with Enniskillen Motor Club's Erne Safari Rally.


Patrick McCollum





  1. Eddie Murphy/Barry Taggart (Expert, Vauxhall Corsa) 11 marks
  2. John Henderson/Jonathan Henderson (Expert, Nissan Micra) 25 marks
  3. Leslie Hawe/Gareth Hawe (Expert, Renault Clio) 31 marks
  4. Gary Sheridan/Lloyd Cochrane (Expert, Proton Compact) 37 marks
  5. Gordon Simpson/Derek Graham (Expert, Citroën C4) 43 marks
  6. David Preston/Kyle Preston (Expert, Citroën Saxo) 71 marks
  7. Andrew Hughes/Neil Anderson (Semi-Expert, Peugeot 306) 78 marks
  8. William Howard/David Howard (Semi-Expert, Vauxhall Astra) 81 marks


  1. Eddie Murphy/Barry Taggart (Vauxhall Corsa) 11 marks
  2. John Henderson/Jonathan Henderson (Nissan Micra) 25 marks
  3. Leslie Hawe/Gareth Hawe (Renault Clio) 31 marks
  4. Gary Sheridan/Lloyd Cochrane (Proton Compact) 37 marks
  5. Gordon Simpson/Derek Graham (Citroën C4) 43 marks
  6. David Preston/Kyle Preston (Citroën Saxo) 71 marks


  1. Andrew Hughes/Neil Anderson (Peugeot 306) 78 marks
  2. William Howard/David Howard (Vauxhall Astra) 81 marks


  1. Clive Latimer/David McElroy (Seat Ibiza) 5 marks
  2. Barry Gilpin/Denis Morton (Rover 414) 7 marks
  3. Richard Hughes/Mark Hughes (Vauxhall Corsa) 27 marks
  4. Ian Johnston/Aaron Johnston (Nissan Micra) 68 marks


  1. Ray McClurg/Garry McClurg (VW Polo) 250 marks
  2. Brendan Mullan/Russell Mullan (Mini 1275GT) 311 marks
  3. Barry Elmore/Brian Reihill (Nissan Silvia) 619 marks
Posted by PMcCollum on 13/2/2010; Last updated by PMcCollum on 18/2/2010