1999 Pre-Circuit Rally Report

5 March 1999

The third round of the Stanley Gordon Oils Navigation Rally Championship was held at Omagh, and speculation was rife at the start whether the year of upsets would continue or whether the Pattersons would regain their form. This time Roger Gordon and Kathryn Millington, driving the smallest car in the event ( a tiny 1-litre Daihatsu) took the top honours, while last year's runaway champions Eric and Glenn Patterson had their miserable season continue, managing only sixth overall.


A larger than usual entry set out to find their way round the challenging 75-mile route, starting and finishing in Omagh and organised by Omagh Motor Club. A particularly tricky section near the start caught out a number of top competitors, who were all penalised 30 minutes for missing a control. Falling snow then began to make conditions difficult, and many crews lost more time later on. Gordon/Millington, despite missing the first 2 rounds, scored a fine victory on 13 minutes penalty. Second overall went to Philip and Brian Dorman with 18 minutes, but this was enough for them to hold onto the overall championship lead. Third went to John Henderson and Lloyd Cochrane, just ahead of the mini of John Lindsay and Patrick McCollum, while Trevor Falloon and David White won Class 2 with a fine fifth overall.


Class 3 and 4 had a shorter route. Class 3 went to Paddy Quinn and David Burns in their immaculate BMW, while Kyle Wethers and David Somerville won Class 4.



  1. Gordon/Millington (Daihatsu) 13 mins
  2. Dorman/Dorman (Nova) 18 mins
  3. Henderson/Cochrane (Sumbeam) 24 mins
  4. Lindsay/McCollum (Mini) 26 mins
  5. Fallon/White (Escort XR3i) 32 mins
  6. Patterson/Patterson (Riley Elf) 42 mins
Posted by PMcCollum on 23/2/2010; Last updated by PMcCollum on 23/2/2010