TSCC Autotest

19 March 2016


The first autotest in the Thoroughbred Sports Car Club (TSCCNI) championship was held on Saturday 19th March at the old airfield site at Millisle, County Down.  The weather was dry and pleasant which resulted in a bumper entry of 45 of which 2 were junior competitors.  The event was held over 4 tests with 3 runs over the first 3 tests and 1 final run at a longer 4th test.  All runs were to count in this event meaning that accuracy would be as important as speed.

In the overall standings Robert Woodside Junior took the win on the day closely followed by Mark Faulkner in 2nd and Simon Woodside in 3rd all driving Mazda MX-5s.  This was also the class order for the larger production sports car and kit car class.


In the Historic and retro class Brendan Mullan in the Mini edged out Stephen Dawson in the MGB for the win with Robert McGimpsey coming a close 3rd in his Volkswagen Beetle.


In the over 1600cc standard Sports cars class Bryan Mutch took the spoils with TSCC competition Secretary Wallace McKee just 6 seconds adrift at the end of competition.


The modified Spots car class was won by John Kelly, followed by Mark Lemon and Gary Duncan in 3rd.  Class 5b was the battle of the BMW’s with Tony McLaughlin emerging victorious over Conn Williamson.


In the saloons it was John McReynolds first past the post in his Toyota Starlet with Kevin McNamee hot on his heels in the Nissan Micra.  The open class was a family battle between Crawford Ewing Senior and Junior fighting it out with junior claiming the victory by just 3 seconds.

Finally in the juniors, Ben McKee came home victorious just in front of Jonny Mcnamee in a hard fought battle.


John Gardner


Posted by PMcCollum on 22/3/2016; Last updated by PMcCollum on 22/3/2016