TSCC Autotest Report

11 May 2016


The 2nd round in the Thoroughbred Sports Car Club (TSCCNI) championship was held on Wednesday 11th May at the Ulster Grand Prix Pits at Dundrod.  Competitors and officials alike were bathed in hot sunshine at the evening autotest.  There was a healthy entry of 32 competitors with 2 of these being junior entries.  The event was held over 4 tests with 3 runs at each of the first 3 tests and 2 runs at a longer fourth test.  Again all runs were to count towards the final scores so precision would be imperative as well as speed.




In the overall standings autotest guru Garth Dillon took the win with David Mutch coming a very close 2nd with only 0.22 of a second separating the two!  Third was Northern Ireland Championship stalwart Ashley Lamont 5 seconds behind.  This would also be the class order for the over 1600cc modified sports car class which yielded a bumper entry of 13.




In the Historic and Retro Class it was Stephen Dawson’s turn to claim the spoils in the MGB over Brendan Mullen in the Mini.  Robert McGimpsey was third in his Volkswagen Beetle.




In the under 1600cc engine standard saloons Sam Lyle in the Nova was first past the post with John McReynolds 2nd in the Starlet and Peter Mann 3rd in his newly acquired fiat Punto.




In the over 1600cc standard Sports Cars Bryan Mutch again held TSCC Competition Secretary Wallace McKee at bay to win the class, both drivers piloting Mazda MX-5s.




In the Modified under 1600cc saloons Jonathan Millar in the Citroen C2 took the honors with Crawford Ewing Junior 2nd and newcomer Tim McAlister a very credible 3rd.




The over 1600cc modified saloons was again the battle of the BMW’s with Tony McLaughlin edging out Conn Williamson for the win.




The Open class was a family affair with Mark Francis beating brother Richard for the Win.




The Junior class was won by Ben McKee in his Micra with Nathan Mann fast coming to grips with his new Fiat Punto in 2nd.




At the end of a fierce nights competition at Dundrod the standings in the TS McIlroy Assessing Fastest Autotester championship still left Mark Faulkner at the top of the table with David Mutch moving up to 2nd and Bryan Mutch only a second adrift in 3rd.  




The Thoroughbred Sports Car Club would like to thank Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council and the Ulster Grand Prix Supporters Club for the use of the premises.




The next round of the TSCCNI championship will be held on Wednesday 6th July, with the venue being confirmed nearer the time.




John Gardner


Posted by PMcCollum on 16/5/2016; Last updated by PMcCollum on 16/5/2016